PCube iOS Help
Here you can find a description of the main functionalities of the PCube iOS app. The app interface is composed of three tabs: Proximity, MyPrivacy, and Settings.
Monitoring proximity. Within this tab you can see the proximity status of the PCube friends which are sharing proximity information with you. A friend is reported “In Proximity” if she is most likely within the threshold distance from you. The threshold distance is reported on the upper left of the tab and can be changed by clicking on it.
Please note that, due to your friend’s location privacy preference, she may appear “In Proximity” while possibly being outside the proximity range defined by the threshold. By clicking on the name of a friend reported “In Proximity” you can see on the map the actual area where she could be. You can also see how much time has passed since the last update of her location. You will also find other information that you may use to contact your friend.
If a friend is listed as ‘Not in Proximity‘ this tells you that your friend is definitely out of the proximity range. In this case you can only access contact details but no location information.
Updating proximity information. PCube periodically updates proximity information without any action required on your side. The frequency of updates depends on energy management preferences. You can also manually enforce an update by clicking on the refresh icon, found in the upper right part of the Proximity tab. While PCube is updating proximity information, the refresh icon is replaced by a spinning wheel. After the proximity has been updated, the refresh icon will be temporarily disabled.
Adding friends. You can also invite new friends to share proximity information with you by clicking the “+” button on the upper right of the Proximity tab. You can manually enter the email address of your friend or pick it from your address book. If a friend is already a PCube registered user, then she will receive a proximity sharing request, and you will be notified if she accepts. If she is not a PCube user, she will only receive an email inviting to use PCube.
Deleting friends. You can delete a friend by swiping on her name. You will not see her proximity anymore and her name will also disappear from the privacy profile she was associated with. She will still see you among her contacts but will never receive proximity information from you. You can add her again by clicking on the “+” button on the upper right of the tab and entering her email address.
Visualizing your privacy preferences. This tab visualize your location uncertainty area for each privacy profile. By clicking on the name of the privacy profile you can see the assignment of each of your friends to the privacy profiles. To visualize the location privacy corresponding to a profile just click on one of the friend names under that profile, or on the empty record if there are no friends associated with the profile.
Changing your privacy preferences. By clicking on the “Edit button” you will be able to:
Hide Me feature. By clicking on the ´Hide Me!´button on the upper left of the tab, you stop sending you location information to anybody, while still receiving your friends’ proximity information.
Application settings. You can logout from PCube.
Energy management. You can set the energy management options to balance between service precision and energy consumption.
Feedback & Help. Here you find links to send us email and to reach the web site with help information.